Before I get into this, this is the part where I tell you that I’m not a doctor. If you decide to follow up on this information, do so with a doctor. And no, witch doctors don’t count.

the-surprising-reason

I was sitting in Bible study with a friend/coworker, and we came to prayer requests. I was having some weird health problems (as usual), and she asked me an unexpected question: “Are you eating enough salt?” 

“What? Isn’t everyone eating too much salt?”

She shook her head, and told me that a doctor (not like me: a real doctor) had told her that a lot of missionaries aren’t getting enough salt in their diets. Once you stop eating as many processed foods and start cooking real good, combined with warmer weather (and therefore more sweat), you might be surprised at how much salt you need to eat.

Here’s a few of the symptoms of salt deficiency:

  • fatigue
  • confusion
  • irritability
  • headaches
  • lack of appetite

I often hear mamas complain of these, and to be sure, some of it’s just the heat, late nights, early mornings, and operating in a foreign context. But it’s also quite possible that you have a mild deficiency. It can also be exacerbated by drinking a lot of water or coffee. (Occupational mom hazard.) So add a little extra salt to your popcorn or your soup, and see if it helps! A little goes a long way. You might also try this re-hydration solution instead of plain water. Sea salts have the most minerals, but may be hard to find. You can read more about salt deficiency here.

Also, I don’t know if I mentioned it or not, but I’m not a doctor. So if you have the above symptoms and you’re concerned, GO SEE A DOCTOR. Don’t let my advice suffice.

Be healthy, mamas!

