Preparingfor

Happy almost June, ladies! Around these parts, that means the start of hurricane season. And as we all know, the second best time to prepare for a hurricane is when there isn’t one coming. You don’t want to be fighting with your neighbor over the last can of spam, for so many reasons.

I used to seriously panic over storms and hurricanes…and maybe I still do, a little bit. But when I know I’m not going to run out of toilet paper, that settles my heart a bit. Mama’s got needs, right? 

So if you need help getting an emergency box started, here’s what was in mine when I went through it this week:

  • Toilet paper (I wasn’t joking)
  • Shelf-stable yogurt
  • A radio
  • Peanut butter
  • Salt
  • Canned tomatoes
  • Gatorade
  • Can opener
  • Sugar
  • Tuna
  • Mayo
  • Matches
  • Chicken boullion cubes
  • Floor cleaner
  • Face masks
  • Wet wipes
  • Dish soap
  • Chickpeas
  • Spaghetti
  • Dust masks
  • Deet
  • Emergency poncho
  • Laundry detergent
  • Honey
  • Peanuts
  • Coconut flour
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Cheese wedges
  • Salsa
  • Applesauce
  • Oatmeal
  • Gallon size ziploc bags
  • Yeast

So you may have noticed a few odd things in here: the dust masks are because post-earthquake, the air was filled with concrete dust. The honey and coconut flour are for gluten-free cooking, because that’s how we eat. Governments and organizations often recommend things like spam…but if we don’t eat that normally, I find it hard to believe that my kids are suddenly going to be okay with that, even in an emergency.

Here’s some things I thought my box was lacking:

  • Dry milk
  • Dried mango
  • Dried zucchini
  • Cornmeal
  • Oil of some kind
  • Lemon juice
  • Popcorn
  • Red lentils
  • A bar of soap
  • Vitamins
  • Rice
  • Pinto beans
  • Canned soup
  • Basic spices
  • Plantain chips
  • Hard candy
  • Phone charger
  • Flashlight
  • Trash bags
  • First aid kit
  • Bleach

I endeavor to make this a resource I could take with me in the event of a land evacuation or pass to a Haitian friend in need. After the earthquake, the pilots ended up living communally and at the airport; things like a can opener would be pretty helpful in that case, I’d imagine. That being said, I try to keep lots of dry beans and such on hand anyway.

Here’s a printable list for grocery shopping or whatnot: Emergency Box Supplies. Remember, this is my list; if your family won’t eat this stuff, having a box of food my family likes is pointless, right? So tailor it to yours. I also put a place to note the expiration date, so you can check and see what should be replaced or eaten before it goes bad.

These resources might be useful to you as well:

http://www.cnbc.com/2017/05/26/atlantic-hurricane-season-starts-june-1-how-to-prepare.html (Although all the parts about insurance coverage probably aren’t going to apply to you…)

https://www.ready.gov/hurricanes

Helpful, I hope? Love you, mamas. You’ve got this!

